Menu
Promo Banner We're still shipping to USDA zones 7-9 - and it's a great time to plant! Promo Banner
Isotoma fluviatilis - blue star creeper
  • Isotoma fluviatilis used as a border between shrubs and grass
  • Blue Star Creeper in flower
  • Close up of Isotoma fluviatilis soft blue flowers
  • Isotoma fluviatilis growing in a one quart pot in the greenhouse
  • Person holding a one quart pot of Blue Star Creeper over other plants in the greenhouse
  • Isotoma fluviatilis growing around a red colored heuchera
  • Blue Star Creeper lawn border growing around ornamental grasses
  • Isotoma fluviatilis growing around stepping stones in a walkway

Isotoma fluviatilis - blue star creeper

Cover the ground with flowers!
Item: #ISOFL1Q
ZONE 5,6,7,8,9
As low as $5.19
  • Fast-growing ground cover for sun to part shade
  • Tolerates heavy foot traffic
  • Blooms all summer long
  • Excellent lawn substitute
  • Perfect for pathways, edging, rock walls
  • Ship size: Jumbo 1 Quart
  • View all Ground Covers
QtyPriceYou Save
Buy 1 or more for $6.99 each$0.00
Buy 3 or more for $6.69 each$0.90
Buy 6 or more for $6.39 each$3.60
Buy 12 or more for $5.99 each$12.00
Buy 24 or more for $5.59 each$33.60
Buy 48 or more for $5.19 each$86.40
How many plants do I need? Plant Calculator
Productt Guarantee
Hear what our customers have to say...
My order arrived yesterday and I have to tell you that it was packaged extraordinarily well and even with the high...... show more

Isotoma fluviatilis - blue star creeper Description

Few other ground covers are as easy or long-blooming as blue star creeper. If you're looking for a colorful, low-maintenance replacement for your lawn or pathways, then this is the plant for you!

Tight 3" tall mats form to spread flowering carpets of blue flowers to 18" wide in a single year.

Isotoma is a deciduous groundcover that tolerates heavy foot traffic. Blooms last all summer long.   Full sun to part shade will provide best growth and flowering.

Great flowering ground cover to plant among hardy ferns, hostas, hydrangeas, and Knock Out roses.

Special features: Deer resistant, Easy care, Fall color, Foliage interest, Heat tolerant, Multi-seasonal interest, Pest resistant, Rabbit resistant, Season extender



Quick Facts

  • Botanical name:
    Isotoma fluviatilis
  • Common name:
    Blue star creeper
  • Zone:5,6,7,8,9
  • Sun exposure:
    Sun to part shade
  • Delivery:
    See schedule
  • Ship form:
    1 quart
  • Soil type:
    Normal
  • Soil moisture:
    Average
  • Height x width:
    3" X 18"
  • Flower color:
    Soft blue
  • Foliage color:
    Green
  • Bloom season:
    Spring & summer
  • Uses:
    Alpine & rock, Container gardening, Edging, Ground cover, Rock garden, Small spaces, Under planting
  • Cannot ship to:
    AK, HI
  • Patent #:None

SUGGESTED PRODUCTS

PLANTING GUIDE

Soil: Will grow in sandy, silty, loamy soil. Prefers a moist, well drained soil. Suffers in compacted and wet soils, so amend compacted or clay soils appropriately before planting.
Light:Full sun to part shade. Benefits from some afternoon shade in warmer growing zones.
Water: Water regularly until established. Although the plant is very drought tolerant, it benefits from a bit of extra moisture in full sunlight or during hot, dry weather.
Spacing: 12 - 18 inches
Fertilizing: An application of any general-purpose garden fertilizer before new growth emerges in spring will keep the plant well-nourished throughout the growing season.
Winterizing: No special care needed
Maintenance & pruning: Shearing the plant down to about an inch in autumn helps keep the plant tidy during the winter months.

Reviews

Write a review
Isotoma fluviatilis - blue star creeper
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Nancy Hanley  |  Oct 10, 2020
I bought several quarts of the Isotoma fluviatilis - blue star creeper. When I received them, I opened the box to find dirt and small roots. None of the plants were separate - the dirt was all together. There were no tops. I don't know whether to plant the dirt or not. I am very disappointed with them.
Owner Response: We are sending you 3 replacements, they will be shipping out on Monday. If you have an issue with any order, please give us a call as soon as you receive your shipment. -- Management

Plants
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Karen Lorch  |  Jul 13, 2020
Ordered 3, all were totally dry on arrival. Watered and planted right away. One might make it but looks terrible, other 2 died.
Owner Response: I noted your concerns in your order, please send pictures of the dead plants to info@greatgardenplants.com, adding your name and order number in the subject line, and we would be happy to replace the plants. -- Management

Patience
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Mike  |  Jun 19, 2020
I planted mine 4-6 years ago. I gave up on them in the beginning. I threw mulch over top of them almost every year, nothing killed them. They just keep coming back bigger every year. This year is the best they ever looked., comparable to the GGP picture of them. I won't be covering them up with mulch anymore.

My favorite ground cover
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Judy Cumming  |  May 30, 2020
I have ordered this in both pots and in the 32 plugs size. All plants arrived in excellent condition and have spread even more quickly than expected. I am in zone 7B, and prepared the area by removing weeds, and spreading out very high quality soil ( Miracle Grow Organic Performance In Ground Soil)

Plants Damaged
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Mike D  |  May 5, 2020
We ordered Isotoma fluviatilis ground cover plants and 7-8 of the 32 plants were nearly completely dead. The flat of plants looked like someone poured weed killer on it as the damage wound its way through the whole package of plants. I contacted the company but haven't heard back. The Liriope - lilyturf plants looked good, so an ok order overall, not "Great."
Owner Response: Good Morning - I see from notes in your order that you have been contacted by Abby one of our customer service reps. She has issued a refund for the plants that did not make it. You should see that refund on your credit card statement. -- Management

Coming back sparse 2nd yr
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Kath  |  May 20, 2019
Greatgardenplants is a terrific source, I've bought numerous things from them and all were successful, except these don't appear to have lasting power in zone 6. plants were healthy and packed well upon arrival and looked good 1st year. This yr, they came back poorly & thin.

Wonderful Plants!
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Ann P  |  Aug 22, 2018
We are thrilled with our plants! Only lost one out of all. Although the wait was long, they have done beautifully and I think of your company each time I water them.

underwhelmed
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
michelle  |  Jul 8, 2018
I knew the flowers were going to be dainty, but they are so much more tiny than I expected, like smaller than a pencil eraser tiny! And they are a lot of work. They do not keep any weed out of their mounds. I constantly have to pick out clovers, dandelions, and wild garlic, they"ll share their space with anything, and the ground was tilled and clean prior to planting. Slow to spread too. This is their second summer, I think I'm giving them one more year to impress me.

Impressed with quality
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon
Dorothee J  |  Oct 15, 2014
I wanted to let you know that I just received my plants and I am extremely impressed with the quality and care put into packaging and shipping my order to me.

Close